Layer Group Trouble

I group layers together. Then, I have some turned off (visibility) whilst others remain on. Then, I turn the entire group/folder off. When I turn the folder back to visible, all layers inside turn on and it does not remember which layers were visible and which were hidden.


This functionality is completely useless. Is there any way to change it?